Niagara Community Design Awards

NIAGARA REGION, October 1, 2010 – For the sixth year in a row, Niagara Region and the Niagara Economic Development Corporation are calling for entries for the Niagara Community Design Awards, which recognize and celebrate excellence in design. This year, we are also partnering with the Niagara Society of Architects to recognize the contributions of the region’s architects. This year’s awards continue to focus on projects that enhance the built environment, efficiently use land, and demonstrate creativity and vision.

Nominations for the awards, to be presented next January, must be submitted to the Niagara Region’s Integrated Community Planning Department no later than 2:00 p.m. on Friday, November 19, 2010.

The award categories include Small Scale Project, Larger Scale Project, Public Realm Improvement, Architecture, Sustainability, Façade Improvement, Adaptive Re-use, Brownfield, Policy and Plans, and Leadership and Legacy.

To view a list of past award winners, and for further details on the Niagara Community Design Awards and requirements for submitting nominations in the various categories, please visit

Smarter Niagara is an initiative of Niagara Region and the Niagara Economic Development Corporation aimed at promoting the benefits of smart growth development and good planning processes throughout Niagara.

For more information:

Terri Donia

Niagara Region

Phone: 905-685-4225 ext. 3374

1-800-263-7215 ext. 3374

Categories: Community Development, Green Housing News

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: